If you are planning on Home Educating (home schooling) your child(ren), please complete the Home Education Notification Form. This form must be submitted within 5 days of beginning your Home Education program.
If your child is currently enrolled in school you will also need to notify that school and complete any withdrawal paperwork they may require. Your child remains enrolled in the school until the effective date listed on your Home Education Notification form.
From the Department of Education:
Notification of Commencement of a Home Education Program
Parent(s) commencing a home education program for a child must notify the commissioner of the department of education, resident district superintendent, OR principal of a nonpublic school.
Homeschooling programs already established are NOT legally required to notify the commissioner of the department of education, resident district superintendent, OR principal of a nonpublic school for future school years except as provided below.
Notification IS required for students between the ages of 6 and 18 years if:
- Establishing a Home Education Program for the first time;
- Establishing a Home Education Program for a child who turns six on or before September 30 (see N.H. compulsory attendance law: RSA193:1); or
- Moving a Home Education Program out of one school district and into a different school district.
If you have any further questions please feel free to look up the text of H.B. 545 which can be found at:
HOUSE BILL 1571: With the passage of H.B. 1571, New Hampshire Home Education Programs are still required to evaluate their students annually (see RSA 193-A:6) but there is no legal requirement to submit annual evaluations to participating agencies. If you have any further questions please feel free to look up the text of H.B. 1571 which can be found at:
The New Hampshire Department of Education has issued a Technical Advisory about these two bills which can be found at:
Whether you notify the commissioner of the department of education, resident district superintendent, OR principal of a nonpublic school, the required notification of commencement of a Home Education Program. Notification of establishment of a Home Education Program is only required one time—not annually.
For more information on Home Education in New Hampshire, please visit:
Parents are encouraged to forward their Home Education questions to:
SAU #44 Administrative Assistant
23A Mountain Avenue, Northwood, NH 03261